Subjective – Breakout feat. Lameduza

Today production duo SUBJECTIVE, made up of legendary DJ and producer GOLDIE and revered engineer and producer JAMES DAVIDSON, release brand new album track ‘BREAKOUT feat. LAMEDUZA’...

Today production duo SUBJECTIVE, made up of legendary DJ and producer GOLDIE and revered engineer and producer JAMES DAVIDSON, release brand new album track ‘BREAKOUT feat. LAMEDUZA’ – listen now.

The track is taken from their their upcoming brand new album ‘THE START OF NO REGRET’ which drops MAY 20TH on Three Six Zero Recordings/Sony Music – pre-order/pre-save here


‘Breakout’, leading with a bouncing 90s rave piano line and pulling in mesmerising vocals from soul singer LaMeduza, surges towards the sunlight and lifts the listener higher and higher throughout its 4 minute runtime. Set to be a live favourite, the track stands out on the record as a nostalgic nod to a previous decade but as with the entire album, incorporates modern influences and techniques to keep it very much future facing.

On the track Goldie commented; “I always had this idea of ‘Breakout’ being a rave anthem from the 90’s that had all of a sudden grown up. Instead of it being one hook, it’s got two verses , two bridges and two choruses. I love the tune, it’s a rave anthem that signifies all that a great rave track is about. Fantastic vocals by the amazing Krizia. ‘Breakout’ is all about that festival vibe, sunlight, going out with your friends and hearing a vocal that you really love and treasure.”


With James adding; “I’ve always wanted to do a rave piano track like breakout and this was the perfect time to do it with the amazing LaMeduza on board.”

The album, which features some incredibly exciting and varied names including nu-jazz staple Tom Misch on ‘Lost’ (A listed BBC 6Music), south London up-and-comer Greentea Peng on ‘Dark’ and American jazz & soul vocalist Lady Blackbird on ‘Sunlight’; showing off both the rich history and calibre of Goldie and James Davidson’s individually but also how they can create something together that’s so cohesive and forward thinking. The sound the duo have been able to create is also partly due to their geographical locations over the past 18 months, bouncing ideas between Davidson’s studio in Bournemouth on the south coast and Goldie’s house in Phuket, Thailand; showing two songwriters and producers at the top of their game responding to a year and a half in very different atmospheres but similar trying circumstances.

Lead single from the album ‘Dassai Menace’ (released with double A-side Fathoms’) was picked up by Virgil Abloh who used it to soundtrack his Louis Vuitton SS22 fashion film ‘Amen Break’ (watch here), with Goldie walking in the accompanying catwalk show. Goldie has also just finished a residency throughout February on BBC Radio 1 alongside the likes of world renown DJ’s Sama’ Abdulhadi, Folamour, Or:la, LCY and Scratcha DVA – listen back here.

‘The Start of No Regret’ will be available on all digital platforms, as well as CD and double vinyl. Pre-order here.

 Full tracklist for ’The Start of No Regret’

  1.   The Start of No Regret
  2.   Lost feat. Tom Misch and Frida Touray
  3.   Brushstrokes feat. Cleveland Watkiss
  4.   Dassai Menace
  5.   American Gods feat. Natalie Duncan
  6.   Azimuth
  7.   Crazy feat. Natalie Williams
  8.   Breakout feat. LaMeduza
  9.   Paradise feat. LaMeduza
  10. Dark feat. Greentea Peng
  11. Reflection
  12. Sunlight feat. Lady Blackbird
  13. Dollis Hill Rufige
  14. Yoshi’s Highway feat. Lady Blackbird