Jules Maxwell – Cycles

Cycles is the latest album of work by Irish composer Jules Maxwell, whose music has featured at London’s National Theatre, The Royal Opera House, Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre and The Roundhouse.

Most recently he has been working with the band Dead Can Dance and in 2021 he released an album entitled Burn with singer Lisa Gerrard.

Cycles is an exquisite album of meditative instrumental music. It is quiet and circular in nature but deeply atmospheric and dramatic at moments.

Cycles will be released on Friday 25th March on Berlin based label Ghost Palace. A limited double vinyl edition will also be available featuring the Cycles album and it’s predecessor Nocturnes.

The secret of Maxwell’s music is that its simplicity allows the listener space to contemplate deeper, and in so doing discover a world of detail and complexity.

Working with Dead Can Dance for the past decade has taught me a lot about composition” explains Maxwell. “Brendan and Lisa’s music is dense and poetic, but actually at it’s core it is constructed from beautifully simple strands. Like life. In my opinion that is why people can identify with it. Simplicity for me as a composer is the Holy Grail. I have spent my whole career trying to simplify and distill ideas to their essence, and allow my music to breathe

For fans of Radiohead, Max Richter and Ryuichi Sakamoto.

Jules Maxwell will be opening for Dead Can Dance on their European shows in 2022.

Tour Dates 2022:

  • 07/04 Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
  • 10/04 London Hammersmith Apollo
  • 13/04 Paris Grand Rex
  • 16/04 Luxembourg Rockhal
  • 19/04 Antwerp Stadsschouwburg
  • 23/04 Utrecht Tivoli Vrenenburg
  • 26/04 Frankfurt Jahrhunderthalle
  • 30/04 Berlin Mercedes-Benz Arena
  • 03/05 Prague KCP
  • 08/05 Budapest Papp Lászlo Budapest Sportaréna
  • 12/05 Belgrade Sava Centar
  • 16/05 Bucharest Aranele Romana
  • 21/05 Thessaloniki Thessaloniki Concert Hall
  • 24/05 Skopje Macedonian National Theatre
  • 28/05 Padova Gran Teatro Geox
  • 01/06 Lisbon Colisseum